News & Insights

This is some blog description about this site

Nominations Open for 2014 Leadership Awards

BY Catherine Hazelton
Catherine Hazelton
As a Senior Program Officer for the California Democracy program, Catherine is e
User is currently offline
| Jan 08, 2013

Today we kick off an exciting month for the James Irvine Foundation Leadership Awards. We are pleased to announce that nominations are now open for the 2014 Leadership Awards. And in just a few short weeks, we’ll announce the recipients of the 2013 Leadership Awards. It’s going to be a celebratory, inspiring month!

Each year the Leadership Awards recognize four to six leaders who are tackling big issues in California and offering breakthrough solutions that can contribute to a better future for our state. We welcome nominations of leaders from all corners of the state and from any field – such as education, health, public safety, economic development or the environment – in the public, private or nonprofit sector.

Past recipients have worked on issues as diverse as providing mental health care for returning veterans, building vibrant communities for seniors, reducing youth recidivism and installing solar panels in low-income communities. What these leaders have in common is that they are advancing innovative, effective solutions to significant issues in California.

Please take a moment to tell us about someone who is improving California and nominate him or her for a 2014 James Irvine Foundation Leadership Award. The deadline for nominations is April 5, 2013.

The Foundation provides each Leadership Award recipient with $125,000 to support his or her work benefiting the people of California. We also support recipients in sharing their effective approaches with state and local policymakers and practitioners in their fields, with the aim of extending their successful models to benefit more Californians.

Since 2006, we have recognized 39 recipients of the Leadership Awards, including both individuals and groups. We can’t wait until February 4, 2013, when we get to introduce you to six new leaders, the 2013 Leadership Award recipients. These effective innovators are addressing a wide range of critical California issues: workforce development, water and resource conservation, regional transit planning, student success, immigrant integration and asset-building for low-income families.

Until then, we hope you will help us identify the 2014 recipients of the James Irvine Foundation Leadership Awards. For inspiration, check out the videos about past award recipients. We are excited to learn about Californians who are breaking through old barriers and demonstrating the ingenuity needed to solve tough problems throughout our state, and we appreciate your help.

Learn more About the Awards.

Nominate a 2014 California leader.

Frequently Asked Questions.

0 votes


As a Senior Program Officer for the California Democracy program, Catherine is engaged in grantmaking related to governance reform, including redistricting and elections, and public media coverage of governance issues. View full bio »


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment.
The opinions expressed in the Comments section are those of the commenters and not necessarily those of the Foundation.

Submit a comment

Guest Friday, 19 December 2014


Irvine Publications


Aaron Pick
2 post(s)
"As Senior Program Officer of the Youth program, Aa..."
Alex Barnum
57 post(s)
"Alex Barnum was a Communications Officer at The Ja..."
Amy Dominguez-Arms
16 post(s)
"As Director of the California Democracy program, A..."
Angela Glover Blackwell
"Angela Glover Blackwell is the founder and CEO of ..."
Anne Stanton
12 post(s)
"As Director of the Youth program, Anne Stanton lea..."
Anne Vally
7 post(s)
"Anne Vally was with The James Irvine Foundation fr..."
Catherine Hazelton
14 post(s)
"As a Senior Program Officer for the California Dem..."
Chris Henrikson
1 post(s)
"Chris Henrikson is the Founder and Executive Direc..."
Connie Malloy
2 post(s)
"Connie Galambos Malloy is Senior Program Officer f..."
Daniel Silverman
58 post(s)
"A native Californian, Daniel Silverman leads the F..."
Don Howard
7 post(s)
"Don Howard was appointed President and Chief Execu..."
Doug Chapin
3 post(s)
"Doug Chapin directs the Future of California Elect..."
Ekta Chopra
1 post(s)
"Ekta Chopra is Irvine's Director of Technology, le..."
Greg Avis
5 post(s)
"Greg Avis is chair of the board of The James Irvin..."
Hilary McLean
1 post(s)
"Hilary McLean serves as deputy director of the Lin..."
Jeanne Sakamoto
4 post(s)
"Jeanne Sakamoto has worked at Irvine since 2004 an..."
Jennifer Ortega
1 post(s)
"As the California director for the national busine..."
Jim Canales
56 post(s)
"Jim Canales served as President and Chief Executiv..."
John Jenks
3 post(s)
"As Treasurer and Chief Investment Officer, John di..."
Josephine Ramirez
18 post(s)
"As Arts Program Director, Josephine is leading the..."
Joyce Sood
10 post(s)
"As Digital Communications Officer, Joyce Sood lead..."
Karthick Ramakrishnan
"Karthick Ramakrishnan is associate professor of po..."
Kenji Treanor
4 post(s)
"Kenji Treanor has worked at Irvine since 2004 and ..."
Kevin Rafter
7 post(s)
"As Manager of Impact Assessment and Learning, Kevi..."
Lisa García Bedolla
"Lisa García Bedolla is Associate Professor in the ..."
Manuel Pastor
1 post(s)
"Manuel Pastor directs the Program for Environmenta..."
Mark Baldassare
1 post(s)
"Mark Baldassare is the president and CEO of the Pu..."
Ralph Lewin
1 post(s)
"Ralph Lewin is President and CEO of Cal Humanities..."
Raphael J. Sonenshein
"Raphael J. Sonenshein is the Executive Director of..."
Ray Delgado
55 post(s)
"Ray Delgado was with The James Irvine Foundation f..."
Reshma Shamasunder
"Reshma Shamasunder has served as Executive Directo..."
Rick Noguchi
4 post(s)
"Rick Noguchi has been with Irvine since 2008 and h..."
Stephen Levy
1 post(s)
"Stephen Levy is director of the Center for Continu..."
Ted Russell
3 post(s)
"Ted Russell has been with Irvine since 2005 and he..."
Thuy Nguyen Kumar
79 post(s)
"As Communications Project Manager, Thuy provides p..."
Vince Stewart
2 post(s)
"Vince Stewart was a Senior Program Officer for the..."